Share to: share facebook share twitter share wa share telegram print page

Number One Christmas

Number One Christmas
Studio album by
ReleasedOctober 1, 1996 (1996-10-01) and October 7, 2007 (2007-10-07)
  • Power Pak
  • Gusto (2007 release)
  • Moe Lytle
  • Tommy Hill
Jeannie Seely chronology
Greatest Hits on Monument
Number One Christmas
Been There...Sung That!
A Golden Christmas

Number One Christmas is a studio album by American country artist Jeannie Seely. It was first released on October 1, 1996, by Power Pak Records. It was co-produced by Moe Lytle and Tommy Hill. Her twelfth studio recording, Number One Christmas was also Seely's first album of Christmas music to be released.

The album was later reissued on Gusto Records in 2007 where it was re-titled as A Golden Christmas. The newer version remain unchanged with the exception of two new album tracks.

Background, content and release

Number One Christmas was recorded in 1996 in sessions produced by Moe Lytle and Tommy Hill. Seely had worked with both producers on a prior album project with Jack Greene in 1982 in which they re-recorded their former hits.[2] In its original release, the album consisted of eight tracks.[1] All tracks were cover versions of traditional holiday recordings. Among these recordings was "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen", "What Child Is This?" and "Silent Night". The original album was released on Power Pak Records in 1994 as both a CD and cassette.[2]

The album was re-released on October 7, 2007, on Gusto Records and was issued in a digital format.[3] It was also re-titled A Golden Christmas.[4] The re-release included the same material, as well as two new track that were added. The song, "Up on the Housetop", was featured and included featured instrumentation from a group called the Nashville Fiddles. A second new recording was included on the re-release, "Little Drummer Boy". The track featured instrumentation from a group called the Nashville Banjos. In addition, the album included new cover art that had not been previously released.

Track listing

Number One Christmas track listing

A Golden Christmas track listing

2007 re-release[3]
1."Joy to the World"Isaac Watts2:07
2."O Holy Night"
  • Adolphe Adam
  • Placide Cappeau
3."What Child Is This?"William Chatterton Dix2:38
4."O Little Town of Bethlehem"Phillips Brooks3:11
5."God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"traditional2:08
6."Up on the Housetop" (featuring the Nashville Fiddles)Benjamin Hanby3:09
7."Hark! The Herald Angels Sing"
  • Charles Wesley
  • George Whitefield
8."Silent Night"
  • Joseph Mohr
  • Franz Xaver Gruber
9."O Come All Ye Faithful"
  • Frederick Oakeley
  • John Francis Wade
10."Little Drummer Boy" (featuring the Nashville Banjos)2:01


All credits are adapted from the liner notes of Number One Christmas.[2]

  • Tommy Hill – producer
  • Moe Lytle – producer
  • Jeannie Seely – lead vocals
  • Chuck Young – art direction and liner notes

Release history

Region Date Format Label Ref.
United States October 1, 1996 Power Pak [2][1]
Gusto [3]


  1. ^ a b c "Number One Christmas -- Jeannie Seely -- Songs, Reviews, Credits". Allmusic. Retrieved 15 April 2020.
  2. ^ a b c d e Seely, Jeannie (1996). "Number One Christmas (Liner Notes and Album Information)". Power Pak.
  3. ^ a b c "A Golden Christmas by Jeannie Seely". Apple Music. Retrieved 15 April 2020.
  4. ^ "A Golden Christmas -- Jeannie Seely". Allmusic. Retrieved 15 April 2020.

Baca informasi lainnya yang berhubungan dengan : article

Article 19 Article 20

Kembali kehalaman sebelumnya