Share to:

$1,000,000 Worth of Twang

$1,000,000 Worth of Twang
$1,000,000 Worth of Twang.png
Compilation album by
GenreInstrumental rock, rock and roll
ProducerLee Hazlewood, Lester Sill

$1,000,000 Worth of Twang is a compilation album by guitarist Duane Eddy.

Chart performance

The album was released in 1960 on Jamie Records (catalog no. JLP-70-3014). It entered Billboard magazine's pop album chart on December 26, 1960, peaked at No. 10, and remained on the chart for nine weeks.[1] It was one of only two Duane Eddy albums to enter the top 10, the other being Have 'Twangy' Guitar Will Travel.[1]

The popularity of the album led to the 1961 release of "$1,000,000 Worth of Twang, Vol. II".[2][3]


Professional ratings
Review scores

At the time of its release in November 1960, music reviewer Gee Mitchell wrote: "'$1,000,000 Worth of Twang' (Jamie) stirs up action aplenty on things like 'Rebel Rouser', 'Moovin' and Groovin',' and 'Because They're Young.' But, better turn the volume down a notch or two."[5]

AllMusic gave the album a rating of four-and-a-half stars, with reviewer Cub Koda calling it a "solid best-of collection".[4] The Encyclopedia of Popular Music also gave the album a rating of four stars.[6]

In January and February 2017, the ARChive of Contemporary Music featured "$1,000,000 Worth of Twang" in its window with web site commentary by head archivist Fred Patterson. Patterson described the album as "our own idea of what is worth a million dollars . . . a compilation of Duane Eddy's biggest hits up until 1960, hanging in our window to remind folks about the important things in life. Yes. Twang!"[7]

Track listing

Side A

  1. "Rebel Rouser" [2:02]
  2. "Cannonball" [1:52]
  3. "The Quiet Thee" [1:57]
  4. "Bonnie Came Back" [1:59]
  5. "Because They're Young" [1:59]
  6. "Theme for Moon Children" [2:15]

Side B

  1. "Moovin' 'n Groovin'" [2:03]
  2. "The Lonely One" [1:40]
  3. "Forty Miles of Bad Road" [2:10]
  4. "Some Kind-a Earthquake" [1:17]
  5. "First Love, First Tears" [2:05]
  6. "Kommotion" [2:25]


  1. ^ a b Joel Whitburn (1995). The Billboard Book of Top 40 Albums. Billboard Books. p. 100. ISBN 0823076318.
  2. ^ Robert J. Ritchie (December 30, 1961). "Record Review". Courier-Post. p. 14 – via
  3. ^ "Album Reviews". Billboard. December 18, 1961. p. 26.
  4. ^ a b "$1,000,000 Worth of Twang". AllMusic. Retrieved December 25, 2020.
  5. ^ "Teen Idols Take Over Ne Discs". Dayton Daily News. November 11, 1960. p. 26 – via
  6. ^ Colin Larkin (2011). The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Omnibus Press. ISBN 978-0857125958.
  7. ^ "Million Dollar Twang". ARChive of Contemporary Music. Retrieved October 9, 2022.
Kembali kehalaman sebelumnya