Share to: share facebook share twitter share wa share telegram print page

!K7 Music

!K7 Music
FounderReiner Bumke, Stephan Guntli, Michael F. Huse, Horst Weidenmüller, since 1996 Horst Weidenmüller
Country of originGermany

!K7 Music is a music company based in Berlin, Germany that focuses mostly on electronic music. The name is an abbreviation of the company's original Berlin address, Kaiserdamm 7 (it has since relocated, first to Heidestrasse 52, and currently headquartered at Gerichtstrasse 35). !K7 has since opened branch offices in New York City and London.[1] The company now operates an artist management division, managing a roster of artists including the British musician Tricky. !K7 Music also runs a successful Label Services and Synch and Licensing department.

It has five independent imprints as part of the K7 label group: !K7 Records, !7K, Strut, AUS and Soul Bank.[2]

K7 had a licensing deal with the New York–based indie label Frenchkiss Records. It has distributed the labels AGOGO, District 6, Environ, Get Physical, Ghostly International, Lo Recordings, Moshi Moshi Records, Piranha, R2, Skint, Salt Records and Muthas of Invention. It also has a music publishing company. It currently distributes Turbo Recordings, Sonar Kollektiv, Luaka Bop, and Rushhour, among others.[3]


Stud!o K7 has produced electronic music artists, especially for the DJ-Kicks compilations. It began in 1985 with the idea of releasing digital video clips. In 1991, the first of the 3LUX series (three volumes) was released, followed by the X-Mix series (from 1993 to 1998). In 1995, the DJ-Kicks series was released. At that time it was unconventional to play complete albums with DJ cuts on home stereos. Artists such as Kruder & Dorfmeister, Nightmares On Wax, Thievery Corporation and Stereo MC's Chromeo, Booka Shade contributed to its release. The compilation series has since included mixes from Jackmaster, Seth Troxler, Marcel Dettmann, Michael Mayer, DJ Koze, Nina Kraviz, Daniel Avery and John Talabot.[4]

In 1996, !K7 started launching artist albums. As of 2014 the !K7 discography features albums from artists such as Kruder & Dorfmeister, Matthew Herbert, Dani Siciliano, Ursula Rucker, Swayzak, and Boozoo Bajou. In 2001, Rapster Records, a new subsidiary of !K7, started focusing on urban, soul and hip-hop music. Since then, Rapster has released records by DJ Jazzy Jeff, Pete Rock, and Roy Ayers, among others. Rapster also forged an alliance with UK-based soul aficionado Peter Adarkwah, head of BBE Records. !K7 founded another subsidiary, Ever Records, in 2006, for indie bands and singer-songwriters such as Cortney Tidwell, Cyann & Ben, and Howie Beck. In 2008 Strut Records & Gold Dust Media joined the !K7 label group. Between 1999 and 2003 Strut released Nigerian Afrobeats, Leftfield Discos, Rare Groove and Grandmaster Flash's latest album. Strut's founder, Quinton Scott, is responsible for A&R. In 2013 !K7 started a cooperation with Tricky for releases on his label, including his 2013 album False Idols.

In May 2017, !K7 created a subsidiary focused on Contemporary music, producing artists such as Niklas Paschburg, Hior Chronik, Echo Collective, Henrik Schwarz, Luca D’Alberto, Maike Zazie and Martyn Heyne. [5]

In October 2017, !K7 acquired the catalogues of Patrice Rushen, Miriam Makeba and The Beginning of the End from Warner Music Group, as part of the major's divestments after acquiring Parlophone as a result of the sale and break-up of EMI.[6]


See also


  1. ^ "!K7 rebrands as it expands management division - Music Business Worldwide". 16 May 2016. Retrieved 4 April 2018.
  2. ^ "!K7 launches 'neo-classical' hub 7K!". Retrieved 4 April 2018.
  3. ^ "'You don't need a major label to have success': Why the label services sector is bigger than ever". Retrieved 4 April 2018.
  4. ^ "DJ Koze and Actress feature on new DJ-Kicks compilation". Retrieved 4 April 2018.
  5. ^ "about 7K!".
  6. ^ "!K7 Music picks up catalogues in Parlophone divestment". Retrieved 4 April 2018.

External links

Baca informasi lainnya yang berhubungan dengan : article

Article 19 Article 20

Kembali kehalaman sebelumnya